We’re super excited because


We’re going to France!! In less than a month! Crazy how everything comes together at the last minute sometimes…

So how did this happen? Well my boss is in France on sabbatical and pretty much as soon as she got there, she sent me an email saying we should figure out how to get me out there for a bit because she really wants me to interact with the huge bacteria community (my project involves bacteria) at the institute where she works. Then it turned out that they have this computer program that is designed to help with analysis of microscopy images. If any of you have heard me talk about my project, you will know that the biggest issue with my whole project is that I don’t know how to analyze my data… at all (What does it meaaaaaaan?!?!?!?). Every month, there is a class that teaches people how to use the program so my boss and I are both signed up to take the class next month… together… in PARIS. Yay! Exciting! It’s been kind of a whirlwind of an experience for me because we had to figure out how to fund my trip because funding has been a bit awkward here and because I still don’t know if I got that giant grant I applied for last July… Ugh…

Anyway, so the first few days of my 12 day stay will be spent learning that computer program and interacting with the other scientists there and then Cobalt is going to fly out so that we can explore Paris together! How awesome is that?! I call this mini honeymoon part 2. These past few weeks have been spent in a whirlwind getting Cobalt a passport and figuring out the necessary supplies for our trip… how exciting!!! Looks like my French for travelers class and my obsession with listening to French rap music at work will pay off after all! :):) I have to admit though that I am kind of nervous too. I’ve been to Canada before and allllll over the US but I’ve never been anywhere else. Crazy nerves and excitement simultaneously!

I think Finn wants to go to France with us…

Now it’s your turn. Have you been to Paris? What is something that Cobalt and I have to check out? Have you traveled abroad? Any words of wisdom for two people who have never left this continent? And finally, tell me something you are SUPER excited about right now. :)

7 thoughts on “We’re super excited because

  1. I’m so excited for you guys! And even more excited it worked out getting Cobalt out there too.

    I’ve never ventured anywhere except Mexico, so I’m about as much help as a jar of mayonnaise. BUT, when you come back you should tell US what to do since Geoff and I will be doing a Europe trip next summer.

    Right now I am super excited that it’s finally warm enough to properly enjoy cherry limeades from Sonic :)

    Yes that is the most exciting thing in my life right now.

  2. I’ve been, but I only did the really touristy stuff.

    So here’s the obvious: The Louvre, Versailles (beautiful in the summer), and go to the Eiffel Tower at night. It lights up and is very romantic (go during the day though if you want to go to the top).

    Also, EAT RAW CHEESE AND DRINK WINE. That’s all I would do if I could go back.

  3. Oh, also Notre Dame! And I remember being jealous of people taking boat rides up and down the Seine river. It looked really fun. Might be worth looking into.

    You should get your hands on the “Anthony Bourdaine’s No Reservations” episode on Paris. Would probably be great guide to food.

    • I listen to a lot of music at work so I have been using Spotify, which has access to pretty much anything I want to listen to. I went through a phase earlier this year where it was pretty much only French rap/pop/dance music every day… :)

Leave a comment